Shopify Black Friday Checklist 2026: Dates, Plan, Checkout

This article may contain affiliate links. We may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. How we earn money

Black Friday checklist - guide cover
In this article

This Shopify Black Friday checklist is dated. Black Friday 2026 is Friday, November 27, and Cyber Monday is Monday, November 30. Prepare in this order: discounts and checkout tests first, stock and shipping next, email scheduling last. The steps come from Shopify’s Help Center and US pricing page, read on October 22, 2026.

  • Thanksgiving is Thursday, November 26, 2026, so Black Friday is November 27 and Cyber Monday is November 30. From October 22 that is 36 days to Black Friday.
  • Shopify allows up to 25 active automatic discounts, and a customer can use up to 5 product or order discount codes plus 1 shipping code on one order (Help Center, October 2026).
  • Test orders do not show in payouts or reports, and customers cannot place live orders while a payment provider is in test mode. Turn test mode off when the test is done.
  • Products stop selling at zero stock by default. “Continue selling when out of stock” is a per-product setting and needs inventory tracking.
  • On the US pricing page (October 2026), Basic lists no extra staff accounts and Grow lists up to 5. Checkout customization is Limited on Basic, Grow and Advanced and Full on Plus.
  • In the hypothetical example below, margin per order falls from $17.00 at full price to $9.00 at 20% off and $5.00 at 30% off.

How was this checklist built?

  • Shopify Help Center: discounts, discount combinations, managing discounts, test orders, selling when out of stock, fulfillment time and delivery dates, shipping, staff users, Shopify Email campaigns, accelerated checkouts, managing increased sales, analytics fields
  • Shopify US pricing page (USD)
  • US Office of Personnel Management federal holidays page (Thanksgiving date)

Every step below comes from the documentation on those pages. No account was opened and nothing was tested. Where a page does not state a detail, the checklist leaves it out.

Pages read on October 22, 2026. Region: United States, USD.

When are Black Friday and Cyber Monday in 2026?

Black Friday 2026 is Friday, November 27, and Cyber Monday is Monday, November 30. Black Friday is the day after Thanksgiving, and Cyber Monday is the Monday after it. Use these dates to plan a Black Friday Cyber Monday Shopify sale.

DayDate in 2026Basis
ThanksgivingThursday, November 26US Office of Personnel Management federal holidays page, read October 22, 2026
Black FridayFriday, November 27The day after Thanksgiving (calendar arithmetic)
Cyber MondayMonday, November 30The Monday after Black Friday (calendar arithmetic)
Dates checked October 22, 2026. Only the Thanksgiving date comes from a source page.

What should a Shopify store finish before Black Friday?

A store should finish discount rules, a test order, stock settings and delivery dates before November 21, and leave the final week for the email and last checks. This Shopify BFCM checklist counts back from November 27, 2026. Each task names the Shopify Help Center article it comes from; the full URLs are in the Sources list.

WhenTaskWhere in ShopifyHelp Center article
Oct 22 to Nov 5Choose discount types and a floor price. Check the combination rules: discounts combine only when each one allows it.DiscountsDiscounts; Discount combinations
Oct 22 to Nov 5Review who has admin access and what each role can do. Check the user limit of your plan.Users and rolesStaff permissions; Maximum number of users for each pricing plan
Nov 6 to 13Create the discounts. If you use a rollout, add each discount to it to schedule when it turns on and off.Discounts, rolloutsManaging discounts
Nov 6 to 13Turn on inventory tracking. Decide per product whether “Continue selling when out of stock” stays off.Product page, Inventory sectionSelling when out of stock
Nov 14 to 20Place a test order with the Test payment gateway or Shopify Payments test mode. Turn test mode off afterward.Settings, PaymentsProcessing a test order
Nov 14 to 20Set fulfillment time and delivery dates shown at checkout. Review shipping rates and profiles.Shipping settingsFulfillment time and delivery dates; Shipping
Nov 21 to 26Create the sale email, choose “Custom date and time”, then Schedule.Shopify Email appCreate campaigns (Shopify Email)
Nov 21 to 26Decide how to limit orders if stock is short: daily inventory caps, a cart maximum app. Prepare support replies and an FAQ page.Inventory, apps, pagesManaging increased sales
Nov 27 to 30Watch stock. When the sale ends, deactivate any unexpired discount you no longer want live.Inventory, DiscountsManaging discounts
Dates count back from Black Friday, November 27, 2026. Tasks come from Shopify Help Center pages read October 22, 2026.

Shopify Email covers the scheduling step. If your list or flows need more than that, compare email apps for sale campaigns before the sale email goes out.

How do discounts and combinations work on Shopify?

Shopify discounts fall into three classes: product, order and shipping. They combine only when each discount’s Combinations setting allows it, and if they cannot combine, the best discount for the cart applies.

  • Limits (Help Center, October 2026): a maximum of 25 active automatic discounts; a maximum of 5 product or order discount codes and 1 shipping discount code on the same order; multiple shipping discounts cannot apply to one order.
  • Order of application: product discounts first, then order discounts, then shipping discounts.
  • Percentage order discounts: when two or more apply, both percentages are calculated on the original subtotal.
  • Sales channels: combinations work only on orders from the Online Store, the Storefront API and Shopify POS.
  • Plan limit: combining several product discounts on the same line item requires a Shopify Plus plan, according to the Help Center.

Scheduling works through rollouts. The Help Center says you can add a discount to a rollout to schedule when it is activated or deactivated, and that a discount keeps its own active dates independently of the rollout. It does not give the date-setting steps on the pages read, so set and preview them in your admin before the sale.

Does my Shopify plan limit a Black Friday sale?

Three plan limits matter on a sale day: staff accounts, checkout customization and discount combinations. On the US pricing page, Basic lists no extra staff accounts, Grow up to 5, Advanced up to 15 and Plus unlimited. Checkout customization is Limited on Basic, Grow and Advanced and Full on Plus (US page, USD, as of October 2026).

Checked
PlanMonthlyBilled yearly (per month)Staff accountsCheckout customizationThird-party payment provider fee
Basic$25$19Not includedLimited2%
Grow$65$49Up to 5Limited1%
Advanced$399$299Up to 15Limited0.6%
PlusFrom $2,300Not listedUnlimitedFull0.2%
US page, USD, as of October 2026, read October 22, 2026. The page does not state whether tax is included; check at checkout. All four plans list 200+ real-time reports. Shopify can change prices and show different figures by country or plan billing; check the live page before you buy.

For the full tier-by-tier breakdown, read Shopify plans and prices compared.

Plan check

Compare your sale plan with the three limits in the table: staff accounts, checkout customization and discount combinations. If none of them blocks the sale you have planned, the limits do not call for a plan change.

Skip a plan change if your sale uses simple discounts, your current staff count fits and you do not need full checkout customization.

Compare Shopify plans on Shopify’s pricing page paid link

We earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. It does not change what we recommend.

How do I test checkout before the sale?

Place a test order through the Test payment gateway or, if you use Shopify Payments, its test mode. Test orders are not charged and do not appear in payouts or reports. Customers cannot place live orders while your provider is in test mode, so turn it off right after.

  1. Set up test mode for the payment provider you want to test.
  2. Create a cart as a customer would and go to checkout.
  3. Complete checkout with that gateway’s test payment details. If several payment methods are active, choose the processor in test mode.
  4. Open the order in your Shopify admin and confirm it looks right.
  5. Turn test mode off.

The Help Center notes you can test a payment gateway only after you have chosen a paid plan. It also says you can pay with a real provider and then cancel and refund the order, but processor fees may apply.

Also check the buttons shoppers see first. Shopify’s accelerated checkout page names Shop Pay, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Amazon Pay and PayPal, and says the buttons appear in an Express Checkout section at the start of checkout. If you are deciding between wallets, read Shop Pay versus PayPal at checkout, and for the provider itself see choosing a Shopify payment gateway.

How do I stop overselling during the sale?

Leave “Continue selling when out of stock” off. By default, customers cannot buy an item until you add stock. The option can be selected only when “Inventory tracked” is on for the product or variant.

  • POS exception: the setting does not apply to orders placed in Shopify POS. Staff can sell past zero after a warning.
  • Several locations: if a location that fulfills online orders is at zero or below, the item still shows as out of stock online, even when another location has stock.
  • Limiting orders: the Help Center lists daily inventory caps, setting stock to zero, removing shipping rates and a cart maximum app as ways to limit orders. Check that your theme and apps do not hide out-of-stock products first.
  • Delivery expectations: Shopify lets you show estimated delivery dates at checkout, either automated or set manually from your fulfillment and transit times.

How much margin does a discount leave?

A discount comes straight out of margin, so set the floor from your costs. In the hypothetical example below, a $40.00 product keeps $17.00 at full price, $9.00 at 20% off and $5.00 at 30% off, before any payment fee.

Worked example: one product at three discount levels (hypothetical)

Assumptions: price $40.00, unit cost $18.00, shipping and packaging $5.00. The payment fee is left out because the Shopify Help Center pages read on October 22, 2026 show no card rate figures; it would lower every result. This is an illustration, not Shopify data.

DiscountSale priceCost and shippingMargin per orderMargin as share of sale price
0%$40.00$18.00 + $5.00 = $23.00$40.00 – $23.00 = $17.0042.5%
20%$40.00 x 0.80 = $32.00$23.00$32.00 – $23.00 = $9.0028.1%
30%$40.00 x 0.70 = $28.00$23.00$28.00 – $23.00 = $5.0017.9%

To earn the same total margin as one full-price order, the store needs $17.00 / $9.00 = 1.9 orders at 20% off, or $17.00 / $5.00 = 3.4 orders at 30% off. To find your own floor, use (price – cost – shipping) / price. Here ($40.00 – $23.00) / $40.00 = 42.5% off, the discount that leaves zero margin.

Set a floor discount from your margin, not from what competitors show. Bundles are one way to protect order value while discounting; see bundle apps for higher order value.

What if I start preparing late?

With two weeks left, finish the tasks that are settings and skip the ones that need testing time. Discounts, a test order, stock settings, delivery dates and a scheduled email are settings. A new theme, an app migration or a checkout change are not. This is editorial advice, not a Shopify statement.

A plan decision takes minutes; theme and shipping set-up takes days. If the plan question is still open, what each Shopify plan includes lists the tiers side by side. Settle it before you touch the theme.

What should I measure after the sale?

Six numbers in Shopify Analytics give a clear picture: gross sales, net sales, orders, average order value, conversion rate and returning customer rate. Shopify’s analytics fields page defines each one, and staff need Analytics permissions to see them.

MetricDefinition on Shopify’s analytics fields page
Gross salesSales revenue before discounts and sales reversals are factored in
Net salesGross sales minus discounts minus sales reversals
OrdersNumber of orders placed
Average order value(Gross sales minus discounts) divided by orders, excluding post-order adjustments
Conversion rateSessions that completed checkout divided by sessions
Returning customer rateReturning customers divided by all customers who placed orders
Definitions paraphrased from the Shopify Help Center analytics fields page, read October 22, 2026. Other reports may define a metric differently.

Compare the same six numbers for the week before Black Friday, so the sale has a baseline. For planning ideas beyond the store settings, read a broader Black Friday marketing plan, and for the weeks after Cyber Monday see holiday campaign ideas.

Frequently asked questions

When is Black Friday 2026?

Black Friday 2026 is Friday, November 27. It is the day after Thanksgiving, which falls on Thursday, November 26 according to the US Office of Personnel Management federal holidays page. Cyber Monday follows on Monday, November 30. The Black Friday and Cyber Monday dates are calendar arithmetic from the Thanksgiving date.

How early should I start a Black Friday sale on Shopify?

Finish discounts and stock settings by November 13, the test order and delivery dates by November 20, and schedule the email in the last week. This follows the dated plan above and is editorial advice, because Shopify does not publish a start date for sales.

Can I schedule discounts on Shopify?

Yes. Shopify’s Help Center says you can add a discount to a rollout to schedule when the discount is activated or deactivated. A discount also keeps its own active dates, which apply independently of the rollout. The page does not give the date-setting steps, so check the discount screen in your admin.

Do I need Shopify Plus for Black Friday?

Not for a standard sale: the pages read do not say Plus is required. Two limits depend on plan: the US pricing page lists checkout customization as Limited on Basic, Grow and Advanced and Full on Plus (October 2026), and the Help Center says combining several product discounts on one line item requires Plus. Check whether your sale needs either.

How do I stop overselling during the sale?

Leave “Continue selling when out of stock” off. By default customers cannot buy an item at zero stock. The option needs Inventory tracked on, and it does not apply to Shopify POS, where staff can sell below zero after a warning. With several locations, stock at the location that fulfills online orders is what counts.

Sources

Our blog is supported by commissions earned from affiliates. Learn more about our affiliate disclosure.
Share this article

Published by

eComStart Editorial Team

We research Shopify apps, themes and plans from official sources such as pricing pages, Shopify App Store listings and vendor docs, and we date the prices we quote.