Shopify Basic Plan: Cost, Features and Limits

This article may contain affiliate links. We may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. How we earn money

shopify-basic-plan-review
In this article

The Shopify Basic plan costs $19 a month billed yearly or $25 a month billed monthly, on the US pricing page in US dollars (checked October 21, 2026). It includes the online store, unlimited products and 10 inventory locations, with no additional staff accounts. It fits a solo founder launching a first store.

Quick verdict

Basic fits a solo founder or a new store that takes payments through Shopify Payments. From $19 a month billed yearly (US pricing page, October 21, 2026).

Skip it if you need staff logins or send a lot of sales through a third-party payment provider. Read what the Grow plan adds over Basic first.

See the Basic plan price on Shopify’s pricing page

We earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. It does not change what we recommend.

Key takeaways

  • Basic costs $19 a month billed yearly or $25 a month billed monthly (US pricing page, USD, October 21, 2026).
  • Twelve months cost $228 at the yearly rate and $300 at the monthly rate, a $72 difference.
  • The page lists the full online store, unlimited products, 10 inventory locations, 200+ real-time reports and live chat support on Basic.
  • Limits: no additional staff accounts, a 2% fee on third-party payment providers, and limited data access for custom apps.
  • Grow costs $30 more a month on yearly billing. Its fee cut covers that gap at $3,000 a month of third-party payment sales.

How this page was checked

  • Read: Shopify’s US pricing page, public.
  • Not opened: any Shopify account, trial or paid plan.
  • Not stated in the pricing page text we read: Shopify Payments card rates and tax treatment, so this page gives neither.

Checked October 21, 2026. All prices are US dollars.

How much does the Shopify Basic plan cost?

On Shopify’s US pricing page the Basic plan costs $19 a month billed yearly and $25 a month billed monthly, in US dollars (checked October 21, 2026). The page does not state whether tax is included; check at checkout.

The table puts Basic next to Grow and Advanced. For every plan, including Plus, see Shopify pricing plans compared.

Checked
PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearly (per month)Additional staff accountsThird-party payment provider fee
Basic$25$19Not included2%
Grow$65$4951%
Advanced$399$299150.6%
Prices checked October 21, 2026 on Shopify’s US pricing page (USD). Yearly price is per month, billed yearly.

Shopify can change prices and show different figures by country or plan billing; check the live page before you buy.

What does the Basic plan include?

Basic includes the full online store and the tools below, according to the US pricing page (checked October 21, 2026).

  • A full-featured online store with themes and templates, and unlimited products.
  • Selling on social platforms and marketplaces.
  • 10 inventory locations.
  • 200+ real-time reports, plus custom analytics.
  • Live chat support.
  • Invitations for third-party collaborators.
  • Email campaigns, customer segments, abandoned checkout recovery, discount codes and gift cards.
  • Shopify Markets for localized selling, with storefront translation and duty and tax estimates.
  • Casual in-person sales at pop-ups and events.
  • Unlimited web hosting and a free SSL certificate.

Showing prices in local currencies and accepting local payment methods are also listed as included. The page adds a footnote that both require Shopify Payments.

What are the limits of the Basic plan?

Basic lists no additional staff accounts and charges 2% on third-party payment providers. Data access for custom apps and checkout customization are limited.

  • Staff accounts: not included on Basic, 5 on Grow, 15 on Advanced.
  • Third-party payment providers: 2% on Basic, 1% on Grow, 0.6% on Advanced.
  • Custom apps built on Shopify APIs: limited data access on Basic, full data access on Grow and Advanced.
  • Checkout customization: listed as limited on Basic, Grow and Advanced.
  • Card rates for Shopify Payments: the pricing page text we read does not state them, so this page gives none. Check them on the live page.

The US pricing page lists Basic, Grow, Advanced and Plus and shows no Starter column. Our page on the Starter plan for social selling covers that plan, and Shopify Starter vs Basic compared sets the two side by side.

Is the Basic plan enough for a new store?

Yes for a solo founder who takes payments through Shopify Payments. Move up when you need staff logins or when third-party payment sales pass about $3,000 a month on yearly billing.

Hypothetical example, not a real store. US prices as of October 2026.

  • Twelve months on yearly billing: 12 x $19 = $228.
  • Twelve months on monthly billing: 12 x $25 = $300, which is $72 more ($300 minus $228).
  • A store that sells $8,000 a month through a third-party payment provider pays Basic $19 + 2% x $8,000 ($160) = $179 a month, or Grow $49 + 1% x $8,000 ($80) = $129 a month. Grow saves $50 a month, or $600 a year.

Grow starts to pay off at $3,000 a month of third-party payment sales on yearly billing ($30 plan gap / 1% = $3,000) and at $4,000 on monthly billing ($40 / 1%).

This counts only the fee Shopify charges on third-party payment providers. The pricing page FAQ says: “Third-party transaction fees may apply when you use a third-party payment provider (instead of Shopify Payments).”

What else will you pay for?

The plan price is only part of the bill. A domain, paid apps or themes and any build help come on top, and POS Pro is an add-on at $89 a month per location (US pricing page, October 21, 2026). This page does not price the others because the pricing page does not.

For a full budget, read what it costs to build a Shopify store. Plans are priced per country too: see Shopify pricing in the UK, Shopify pricing in Canada and Shopify pricing in Australia.

Open Shopify’s pricing page for today’s Basic price

Shopify Basic plan FAQ

How much is the Shopify Basic plan?

On the US pricing page (checked October 21, 2026), the Basic plan costs $19 a month billed yearly or $25 a month billed monthly, in US dollars. That is $228 for 12 months on yearly billing and $300 on monthly billing. Shopify can show different figures by country, so check your own country’s pricing page.

What is included in the Basic plan?

The US pricing page lists a full-featured online store, unlimited products, 10 inventory locations, 200+ real-time reports, live chat support, email campaigns, discount codes, gift cards and Shopify Markets on Basic. Additional staff accounts are not included. Check the pricing page for the current list, because Shopify can change what each plan includes.

What is the difference between Basic and Grow?

Grow costs $30 more a month on yearly billing ($49 against $19). For that it lists 5 additional staff accounts (Basic lists none), a 1% third-party payment fee instead of 2%, and full data access for custom apps instead of limited.

Does the Basic plan include staff accounts?

No. The US pricing page (checked October 21, 2026) lists additional staff accounts as not included on Basic, 5 on Grow and 15 on Advanced. Inviting third-party collaborators is listed as included on every plan. If you need logins for staff, compare the Grow plan before you buy.

Does Shopify have an introductory price?

Shopify’s US pricing page (checked November 5, 2026) advertises a 3-day free trial, then $1/month for the first 3 months on most plans. The plan prices on this page are the standard prices that apply after that period. Offers can change, so read the current terms on Shopify’s pricing page.

Sources

  • Shopify pricing page, US, USD, checked 2026-10-21: https://www.shopify.com/pricing
Our blog is supported by commissions earned from affiliates. Learn more about our affiliate disclosure.
Share this article

Published by

eComStart Editorial Team

We research Shopify apps, themes and plans from official sources such as pricing pages, Shopify App Store listings and vendor docs, and we date the prices we quote.